After 36 years, first Harley ride

Bike
ST1300 '08
I know there are other threads on this, and as I thought, "who cares what I think," it dawned on me that there are others in my situation who might find an objective report useful. if not, that's OK too.

I've been riding since 1973, never rode a cruiser of any kind, much less an HD. After a few years of not riding, when I got back into it, I was sure I'd get a Harley, made in America, they're cool, etc.. went shopping - too much $$, all the old worries about reliability (they DID have probs in the 80's for sure - I remember seeing them broken down by the side of the road all the time). The kicker was, the salesman told me how life-changing it would be to own a Harley, that it would give me my identity. I thought, wow, if that were the case, I really must have more serious issues.. and walked out, bought a Suzuki DL650, then my ST.

OK, enough of that.

Nonetheless, the intrigue and curiosity remained. I figured renting one would answer a lot of questions, and it did. Where I live, no rentals. Went to CA to visit one of our daughters, and had the chance to rent a bike instead of a car for the weekend, so we rented from Vacaville (CA) HD, which treated us great, and the woman there (Terri Biron) is gorgeous btw and a real pro - so kudos to a good dealer.

My take on the Harley, again FWIW:

fit and finish: really nice. good paint, chrome obviously

luggage: excellent, easy to use and good latches, etc.