PDA

View Full Version : Self Cancelling turn signal does not cancel

Luc252
08-10-2006, 11:10 AM
Hi all,

I am a newbie to this board. I just purchased an '03 ST1300A and just love it. Very different than my '83 Goldwing.

Would anyone have any idea as to why the self cancelling turn signal switch does not self cancel? I have to manually turn it off after a turn or lane change.

Thanks for the help.

Luc

Don-STOC237
08-10-2006, 11:28 AM
Er, because the ST's don't have self-cancelling turn signals?

hojo in sc
08-10-2006, 11:47 AM
My ST has self cancelling; I do it MYSELF:D Which by the way, works better than my GL1500 and GL1800 did, as they turned off before I wanted them to.

sttourer
08-10-2006, 11:51 AM
You'll get used to the old manual way. I came off a Wing to the ST too. It took a couple of months but I finally got used to it.

Pat

Buzz
08-10-2006, 11:51 AM
Congrats on the purchase and welcome! The turn switch is a manual push to cancel. There are a few threads of discussion on turn signals which you can find with a search...try this one as a start:
http://www.st-owners.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15759&highlight=turn+switch

Luc252
08-10-2006, 02:24 PM
I know it will take a while to get used to, if they are manual. I asked the question because page 33 of the owners manual states:

"The appropriate turn signal lights will start blinking. The lights will automatically stop when you complete the turn. (you can manually cancel the lights by pushing the switch in.)"

I like the self cancelling feature on my GL1100i. To me, it's just one less thing to worry about.

Thanks for the replies.

Luc

Scaredy Cat
08-10-2006, 03:09 PM
Some things I like to have responsibility for - I would prefer to be able to choose whether my headlights are on or off - "Farkle" I hear you cry - yep, maybe soon.