Heated Grips - Install

Bike
2002 Gold Wing
STOC #
I would apprecatiate some advice on the installation of heated grips. I have very little skill or experience in working on my bike. Is this a job that a newbe should even attempt. I believe that my dealership will do the install for approximately $100 plus the grips. Also, has anyone documented the process to take the plastic off of our bikes to do general maintenance. Thanks in advance for any help. :confused:

NewsMag

R.I.P. - 2022/08/23
Rest In Peace
Bike
2004 ST1300A
STOC #
Grips can be easy

With the right tools, space, parts, and some experience - anybody could do heated grips. Here are some of the major operations and factors to consider - then you can judge if you want to tackle the task.

Things to think about: Will you re-use the Honda grips or get new? If new, what kind and color? Will the new grips need holes cut in the ends (for the bar-end weights)? Where will you mount the switch? Do you want a thermostat (i.e. heat-troller)? If so, where will you mount the thermostat? What source of power will you use? Is the power source switched off when the key is off? Do you want a separate fuse for the grips?

1) Removal of the Stock grips - you can re-use them, but they are kinda cheap and hard. Re-use requires compressed air to get them off. If you don't care to re-use, you can cut them off.

2) Clean with alcohol, then install the grip heaters. Route the wires down the bars and to the switch and power source. Use small zip ties to anchor.

3) Switch installation - I drilled the plastic below the LH fairing pocket. Photo attached shows the switch with a waterproof cover from Home Depot just below the cell phone. I also installed electrical connectors inline with the switch so I can remove the left side plastic without having to disconnect at the switch. If you want a thermostat, that will have to be wired inline and mounted somewhere.