Old Bike, new problem.

Bike
'04 ST1300
Hello all, I am having a problem with my ST1100 that I am hoping someone(s) here can help out with. I have a 94 ST with about 71,000 miles on it. (We have put over 10,000 mile on it this year.) I think it has had about 10 previous owners. I don't really know its history. We (my wife and I) bought it to ride around Europe for the year and will be reselling it when we leave. Up until this week everything has been more or less fine. It has been running strong and has been fine in the flat places and in the Alps. However, all of a sudden it is refusing to start, as though the battery is dead, and when I push start it, the Voltage meter swings all over the place and the motor jumps and pulses and stalls. Frankly, and I'll admit this up front, I am not a motorcycle mechanic and I have limited knowledge of how all of the various systems are interacting. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
here is a YouTube video of it in action http://youtu.be/T6-A1CHKId0

Last edited:

sirepair

Let's RIDE!
Site Supporter
Bike
2003 ST1100P
STOC #
Start with checking/cleaning battery and electrical connections. Inspect/repair connectors from alternator to regulator. Check connections to main relay. Load test battery (many auto repair places can test) to determine if it needs replaced.

Keep us posted.

Bike
'98 ST1100
STOC #
+1 This shouldn't be too hard to rectify ( no pun intended ). You can always disconnect the battery and jumper in another battery, even a car battery to see if the battery is the problem. But a bad charging system could have caused the battery to fail.

If you have a voltmeter, if you jumper in another battery and get it started, you can then measure the battery voltage to check the charging circuit ( 13-15 volts ). And +1 to checking the big connector for corrosion on the main relay. Also check the two connectors from the Stator and the connector on the rectifier/regulator.