New to me 91 ST1100 blowing blue smoke

Wow! Much more response than I anticipated. Thanks, all.

Short story: I don't have the right adapter for my compression tester, but when I pulled the plugs, #4 had obviously been burning a ton of oil, and was severely coked up. 2+2=4, so I have my fingers crossed and the cylinders full of ATF.

Longer story:
-the PO gave me a receipt for work the the owner before him had done. Date 1/5/16. Mileage 178,087. When I bought it this week, the mileage was 178,094. That receipt had the guy's name and number, so I called him. He claimed that it didn't burn oil when he had it. He didn't sell it to me, and I can't think of any reason he'd have to lie about it.

-when I bought the bike, I inspected it in daylight. I am 100% sure it wasn't smoking at that point.

I'm not an expert, but I can only think of 2 possibilities: it broke a ring the very first time I rode it, or the rings became "stuck". Anyone have any experience with either of these situations on these motors?

I'm scheduled to take a ride with my dad, uncle, great uncle, and grandfather tomorrow. Grandpa is 83, and his riding years are dwindling. I think I might put it back together, take a few quarts of oil with me, beat the piss out of it, and keep my fingers crossed.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Whooshka

Fairly faST old guy
Bike
2006 ST1300
Well I'd hold off on the "beat the piss out of it". Why risk a breakdown and ruin everybody's day.

Bike
1991 Honda ST1100
STOC #
-the PO gave me a receipt for work the the owner before him had done. Date 1/5/16. Mileage 178,087. When I bought it this week, the mileage was 178,094.
So the guy bought it, and rode it 5 miles in 2 years before selling it to you? That usually screams red flag to me. Like the guy found something he did not like or could not fix, and parked it.