Heat from the ST engine

I'm new to the ST and to this forum though not to riding. This may have been gone over before and if so, sorry but when out on the road I'm getting a lot of heat from the engine on my legs. It gets so hot that the bottom of the tank area will actually burn my leg. I have learned to ride with my leg out and away from the tank but the heat is still awesome and very uncomfortable.

What can I do. When I came in from a ride the other day I looked at the leg area that had felt so uncomfortable and it was red as if I have just gotten a sun burn.

+1 on the pants, my new Darian's solved the problem for me. Can't believe I went so long without the proper leg and knee protection...ATGATT

I'm new to the ST and to this forum though not to riding. This may have been gone over before and if so, sorry but when out on the road I'm getting a lot of heat from the engine on my legs. It gets so hot that the bottom of the tank area will actually burn my leg. I have learned to ride with my leg out and away from the tank but the heat is still awesome and very uncomfortable.

What can I do. When I came in from a ride the other day I looked at the leg area that had felt so uncomfortable and it was red as if I have just gotten a sun burn.

Keep your gas tank filled. The problem is much more pronounced when the tank is near empty. Putting the seat in the low position also seems to help.

Pants? You mean you guys wear pants? No wonder I've been getting strange looks lately, and women either laugh or get violently ill. I thought it was just my hi-viz Darien jacket.

In addition to the things already mentioned I added the fairing extenders from Honda and that has helped a lot. Good luck!