1994 ST1100, coolant leak under carbs, what all should I change?

Ace

Bike
1994 ST1100
Hi everyone,

I have a 1994 ST1100 with about 47k miles, overall in good shape. I had the infamous coolant leak under the carburetors. Got towed home. :( First break down since I bought the bike in 2001, so I can't complain...

Removed almost all the plastics. A friend helped me remove the carbuterators. Root problem was easy to identify, the right hand hose had developed a hole and leak.

I read the other related posts on this thread, also looked at John O's pictures (thanks John!).

A couple of questions:

1. I've already got everything apart, so what all should I change at this point? I'm not a great mechanic, so maybe I should just replace the left and right cooling hoses and wait to do the rest at the next Tech STOC! :D Seriously, I was thinking of also changing the bypass hose, upper and lower radiator hoses, thermostat, fan cooling switch, and radiator cap. I'm hoping I don't need to change my metal elbows, or should I replace them based on age?

2. Do you recommend using Honda (OEM) parts for the replacement hoses? Reading the postings, it sounds like a few folks have used straight hose or gone to a parts store to find a close match, but I am guessing most people are replacing with Honda OEM hoses.

3. It sounds like people recommend changing the carburetor boots while I'm in that far.

4. Also while I've got everything exposed, should I open up all the electrical connectors? Maybe clean them with contract cleaner spray? Then add dialectric grease to each?

5. I'm going to have to flush and fill the radiator while I have it all apart, because I added a lot of water trying to find the source of the leak. Should I just flush with water or 50/50 water/coolant? Or is there a cleaning solution I should run through the bike first, then rinse it out before filling with Honda coolant mix?