Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: South Carolina to Austin TX 4/29/13

Bike
    2009 ST1300ABS
    My Gallery

South Carolina to Austin TX 4/29/13

Hey there, I'll be popping my ST cherry a week from today starting off on the coast and heading back to Austin as fast as possible. So if any of you have strong opinions about places to avoid or hit, please feel free to share. I'll be posting my novice experience when I get back!
    When was the last time you bought an ST1300 in another state before ever even seeing one Ron?
    Oh, that would have been 4/16/13

Bike
    2005 ST1300
    Tip Overs
    My Gallery

Re: South Carolina to Austin TX 4/29/13

For starters, tell us exactly where you are starting, and where you are going, then maybe we can reveal some places to be careful and some places to run.
    Tom
    STOC# 7303
    Travels since August 2006 on TOMSST

(Threadstarter)
    Bike
    2009 ST1300ABS
    My Gallery

Good idea - I'm new to this!

I start in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. My goal is to get back to Austin, Texas as quickly as possible - more of a bike collection trip than a scenic tour. It looks like I'll be stopping for scattered thunderstorms along the way as I set off on Monday.

It seems that I go via Atlanta Georgia, and then I can either take the I10 or I20 towards Texas.

From all the recommendations I've had so far - everyone here has been very helpful - it looks like I'll be shooting for 500 miles in the first day, 450 on the second and then finish up on day three.

Going I20 which would put me:
    night one in Birmingham, Alabama. I figure a big city would have a cheap place to stay so I can soak in a tub, but really I'm clueless.
    night two in Shreveport, Louisiana. Then back home.

Going I10 would put me:

night one in Montgomery, Alabama
    night two in Crowley, Louisiana. Then back home.