ST1300 heat - problem SOLVED.

STOC #
Lots of discussion and pictures, so I posted an article on my own site. I completed this last year, but wanted plenty of time for testing before declaring the solution works. IT DOES. My solution is a combination of things others have done, plus more of my own work.

See www.donferrario.com/st1300 for details. Enjoy the tips. Feel free to discuss here. I plan to be at Addison, NY, on 5/5/2012, so if anyone wants to check it out they are welcome. I live nearby, so if some of you want to have a tech session after lunch and perform this procedure on your bike we can do it that day.

Here's a tease:

Last edited:
Thanks for all the info - looks like your solution will make a big difference. I'm new to the ST (just bought my bike this week). What happens when you have to work on stuff down in there? I imagine all that foil will get in the way??

OP
OP
CarSalesman
STOC #
The foil does not interfere with anything that normally needs maintenance. Worst case, grab it and rip it out of the way. The whole roll is $25, and will do at least four bikes.

Bike
06 ST
What about the over heating concern? The heat is contained and not venting off. Block up a radiator and see what happens. Dave B.

Bike
2007 GL1800
STOC #
I like how you've gone about solving this. I do have one question, though: I assume from the write-up and the pictures that you have closed off all external air to the air box area. How are the throttle bodies getting enough air?

OP
OP
CarSalesman
STOC #
SoontoBe - the feed to the air cleaner is not closed off. The engine air intake is not part of the closed off area. See the picture at the top of this thread, the air intake is the black plastic scoop on the far right side (front).