Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 80 of 80

Thread: FI Code 26

  1. #71
    Site Supporter Ashley's Avatar
    Bike
    2004 ST1300
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida USA
    Age
    54
    Posts
    960
    Tip Overs
    3
    2017 Miles
    010660

    My SPOT
    My Gallery

    Re: FI Code 26

    I'm trying to help out a local rider that just purchased a 2004 ST1300 with this same issue. I know there are 2 different ECUs, one for 2003 -2007 (38770-MCS-L01) and one for 2008 -2012 (38770-MCS-R12). The last 3 digits are different and I thought this only represented a different manufacturer or some other update. Does anyone know if these are interchangeable? The later one is about $200 less MSRP and I thought I remember reading that the mapping was improved on the later one.
    Ashley Horn
    2004 ST1300
    STOC# 4906
    IBA# 62013
    Ok, the AZ trip was a fly and rent a Goldwing trip...

  2. #72
    Natural Rider Enhancement Blrfl's Avatar
    Bike
    Fast Blue One
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Age
    49
    Posts
    10,354
    Tip Overs
    1
    My Gallery

    Re: FI Code 26

    Quote Originally Posted by Ashley View Post
    Does anyone know if these are interchangeable?
    They are not.

    The way to tell in general is to look up the part in the parts fiche. If the old part says it was superseded by the new part, you can use the new part. The other thing you can do is look up the new part by number, find out where it's used and see of the bike is in that list. (Many places that sell parts online have this feature.)

    You can learn about what the part codes mean here: CLICKY.

    --Mark
    Wizzzzzzzzzzzz What's a Blrfl? ... Shameless plugs: STWiki

  3. #73

    Re: FI Code 26

    Quote Originally Posted by Blrfl View Post
    They are not.

    The way to tell in general is to look up the part in the parts fiche. If the old part says it was superseded by the new part, you can use the new part. The other thing you can do is look up the new part by number, find out where it's used and see of the bike is in that list. (Many places that sell parts online have this feature.)

    You can learn about what the part codes mean here: CLICKY.

    --Mark
    Didn't somebody also mention that the 2003 harness won't plug in the later ECU?

  4. #74

    Re: FI Code 26

    Quote Originally Posted by eBay/gmilne

    eBay Post

    ECU from a running US 2004 ST1300A.

    I purchased a new ECU in an attempt to clear a code 26. Unfortunately, the new ECU didn't help, but I left it in the bike and am selling the original. The bike ran perfectly except for the FI code, which I learned that many just live with it with no issues.


    Wondering if eBay gmilne is on this board. Had not heard of the "many just live with it" observation and was wondering how wide a poll he might have conducted!



    .

  5. #75
    Site Supporter Don B's Avatar
    Bike
    ST1300
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Alief, TX, USA
    Age
    75
    Posts
    1,859
    Tip Overs
    1
    My Gallery

    Re: FI Code 26

    Quote Originally Posted by MidLife View Post
    Don B,

    Couldn't find the rest of your story in this thread, on chasing after your code 25/26 issue. Did you post it somewhere else? Did you end up having to replace the ECM?
    Below is a copy of a PM that I recently sent to you:

    I haven't had the tupperware off of my ST since the problem first cropped up (shame on me), so I haven't yet been able to do any troubleshooting to determine the cause of the failure. I still don't hesitate to ride the bike anywhere I want, I just try to keep it under 70mph and ride on. As you well know, keeping the bike at or below 70 isn't easy, but I don't get concerned about it if I lite up the FI since I'll notice a slight drop in RPMs when the code is set, so I know what it is and that no harm is likely to occur from continuing my ride with the FI lite lit, just an annoyance. At any rate, I really do intend to take the time to remove the plastic before too much longer and do a little routine maintenance while I'm there. I plan to do the regular multimeter checks for insulation and continuity, and go from there. hopefully it will be a wiring problem that should be relatively easy to fix. Trying to check the wiring integrity all the way back to the ECU connector appears to be easier said than done because of the poor accessibility to the ECU, so I plan to check it back to a connector between the knock sensors and the ECU connector. It's been awhile since I looked at it in my Honda SM, but I think the connector I'm referring to is the 9-pin connector under the seat. If I find the wiring is all good, I guess I'll have to bite the bullet and replace the ECU, but if it comes to that I'll try taking my chances with one from e-bay or a salvage yard first. I really would hate to have to cough up the $ for a new one from Honda, would have to think twice before doing that.

    Sorry I couldn't really answer your question since I haven't yet tamed my code 26 problem, but hopefully I may have brought up some ideas you hadn't considered. If you tackle yours, let me know how it turns out. I thought about trying a couple of the M/C salvage yards around if it comes to that, but it's been several years since I've been to one that I don't even know if they still exist or not. I used to go to one on Long Drive a short distance from the south loop 610 many years ago, but I think that place is long gone by now.

    By the way, I remembered that I located at some time in the past an easier way to gain access to the ECU than the SM describes. Just follow the first 9 steps in the following instructions.

    Since your ST doesn't have ABS, it may be that you can access the ECU from under the seat and not have to remove the tail section. I've never seen under the seat of a non-ABS ST, so I have no idea.

    http://www.powercommander.com/downlo...eng120-411.pdf

    The Older I Get ... The Better I Was

    '03 ST1300A (The one with the faST black wheels)

  6. #76
    Dave.David's Avatar
    Bike
    2004 ST1300A
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    LA California USA
    Posts
    553
    2017 Miles
    003000

    My Gallery

    Re: FI Code 26

    Can anyone post a picture of the knock sensor wires up by the ECU? Or maybe the same wires go through a plug under the seat or tank somewhere? A picture and what color the two wires are would really help those of us just starting to trace the problem. Thank you.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk

  7. #77

    Re: FI Code 26

    Quote Originally Posted by Don B View Post

    By the way, I remembered that I located at some time in the past an easier way to gain access to the ECU than the SM describes. Just follow the first 9 steps in the following instructions.

    Since your ST doesn't have ABS, it may be that you can access the ECU from under the seat and not have to remove the tail section. I've never seen under the seat of a non-ABS ST, so I have no idea.

    http://www.powercommander.com/downlo...eng120-411.pdf
    Thanks for the info.

    Just had a look at the wire by the sensors on mine, it all looks very good, no melting, chafing or lack of slack. Nothing like some of the pictures I've seen.

    As you say, my 03 is non ABS and I can see the ECU under the rack.

  8. The Following User Likes This Post:


  9. #78
    AdminiSTrator Mellow's Avatar
    Bike
    ST-1200
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Carrollton, TX
    Age
    53
    Posts
    26,745
    Tip Overs
    2
    2017 Miles
    012235

    My Gallery

    Re: FI Code 26

    Has anyone taken a replace ECM and opened it up to see if there's any obvious electrical damage which might be corrected?

  10. #79
    Site Supporter Don B's Avatar
    Bike
    ST1300
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Alief, TX, USA
    Age
    75
    Posts
    1,859
    Tip Overs
    1
    My Gallery

    Re: FI Code 26

    I may be mistaken, but I think I read at one time that the ECU is fully sealed in potting compound. Is that possible?

  11. #80

    Re: FI Code 26

    Quote Originally Posted by Mellow View Post
    Has anyone taken a replace ECM and opened it up to see if there's any obvious electrical damage which might be corrected?
    Looks like some have already looked into this. Check this thread and post.

+ New Posts
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •