The Basics, a good place to start..

Mellow

Joe
Admin
Bike
'21 BMW R1250RT
2024 Miles
Edit: I posted this originally on NT-Owners.org and thought I'd post here as well.

People are always asking me why I like camping so much and how I can camp on the bike, what are the tips and tricks to it?

Well, everyone is different and I can only provide the tricks that I've learned in the past few years that work for me.
Remember, these are only MY personal preferences and can be used as a starting point for you to get into camping on a motorcycle,
don't be afraid to change things that you feel will work for YOU.

My Background:
I only started riding since Dec 1999 and my camping experience on the bike only began in 2002 so roughly 10 years.

I've developed my camping techniques over these past 10 years and camped on Goldwings, ST1300s and now Dual Sports - Super Tenere/VStrom.

What is the bare minimum I need to camp?
This is the 1 million dollar question. Well here ya go:

1 - A tent
2 - A sleeping bag
3 - An air mattress
4 - Waterproof bag(s)
5 - Pillow - inflatable or compressible
6 - Flashlight and/or Headlamp - preferably LED for long life

That's it. Simple as that.

Now, I'll expand on the items listed above a bit then talk about some alternatives that some prefer.

The Tent:
Cost
If you're only planning on camping a few times a year you can probably get by with a low-cost tent in the range of $100 or less. But, if you plan​
on doing a lot of camping then it may be beneficial to splurge for some name-brand equipment which may run in the $150+ range.​
Type
Tents come in several types but we will only discuss a couple here.​
Bivy - These are typically one-person tents that have one or more poles that require being staked out with tent stakes in order to​
retain their shape/structure.​
Dome - A dome tent is typically a stand-alone tent where, once the tent poles are installed, will stand up on it's own without needing​