Front Wheel Brake Dragging

Reginald

cyclepoke
Bike
ST1300
STOC #
While I was replacing my front fork springs I noticed the front wheel was not spinning easily.

The front wheel was dragging a bit from the brakes before I started, it sounded like the rear brake. The front wheel wouldn't make a complete revolution on it's own after pulling it by hand; it used to spin almost twice. So while the front was off I cleaned up the brakes with brake cleaner. When I got it all together, I still got the drag and same weak spin I got before. It's the left front pads that are dragging, the right pads spun correctly (put them on one at a time find the problem). I don't believe the disk is warped because the drag is constant when I turn spin the wheel.

Any ideas on what to do about that brake drag (something simple). I've never worked on a linked system before and am intimidated by the thought of taking the calipers apart and bleeding the system. May have to take this thing to the shop.

Bike
2014 FJR ES 2009 WEE
Left side could be SMC related.......I'd check that.................good luck..................ff

Bike
ST1300
STOC #
I can't say for sure, but don't think a problem with the SMC would cause the front brakes to drag. The front brakes' hydraulic system is completely separate from the rear brake and SMC. The easiest thing to check first would probably be to make sure the caliper will slide in and out easily (no binding). Pushing the caliper inward the first time will take a bit of effort since you'll be forcing the pistons Into their bores, but it should move in and out easily then until the brake lever is applied. The beginning of the chapter on the brake system in the service manual has some troubleshooting tips that may guide you the right direction. Another thing to consider is whether the proper sequence was followed when the front wheel was installed.

CruSTy

My Perception is my reality.
Site Supporter
Bike
2007 ST1300A
2024 Miles
STOC #
+1 Not likely the SMC.