Buyers tips/guide?

Hello hello everyone! I'm looking at picking up an '05 ST1300, this will be the third cycle I've owned BUT the first I'll be buying from a used dealership. :eek:: My other two were both purchased from family members with well documented service records. Any tips or hints I should look out for or to stress the dealer about?
I'm sure I'm not the first to ask this sort of thing, so if there's another thread I should read I'll gladly (and thankfully!) read it several times over lol!
Thanks in advance for any help! :bow1:

970mike

Mike Brown
Site Supporter
Bike
07 & 12 ST1300A
SPOT
LINK
STOC #
Make sure that all fluids have been changed, tires and brakes are good. Make sure that the valves are in specification, fuel system is not full of rust from sitting. If that checks out and you like the bike, then ride it!!

Bike
2004 ST1300A
I've been riding for just under 9 years, but have only had my st1300 for a month. However, because I have read hundreds of posts on this site there are a few things to look for:
Thermostat gets stuck in open position causing the engine to work harder and get poor fuel economy. The tale-tell sign is the coolant thermometer (on the dash) won't get to 3 bars when it is cold. It is a cheap fix at ~$50 for parts. Labor will quadruple that amount.
One less likely issue is the windscreen adjuster. If it starts binding when you run the windscreen up and down then it will need to be replaced. A new adjuster will run you about $400 plus labor.
A tire tread depth gauge will run you <$10 but give you an idea on when tires need to be replaced. New rubber will cost you $400ish if mounted.
Farkles are nice but add very little value. Actually, there were a few on mine that took quite a bit of time just removing them. It would have been better if they weren't on in the first place. Definitely have dealership put new oil & filter. It is a Honda and a V4 so it is nearly bulletproof. Good luck! soug