Driving like Miss Daisy, 34mpg and fuel gauge woes.....

Purchased the bike two weeks ago, used with 80k. I fill up and fuel gauge reads a bar low. Within a few miles it reads two bars low. It was showing two bars left and it still had 3 gallons still in it. I averaged 34mpg running 93 Octane gas, seafoam was added at fill up.

According to owners notes it has a K&n air filter, I plan on checking out the filter and airbox and cleaning the filter.

When I start the bike up thermostat warms up like it should to three bars and stays at three bars. Original was already replaced, Maybe it's going bad but it's not acting like it.

I do not know the last time the plugs were pulled or change if ever, maybe they are shot?

Oil is new, so I'm not worrying about that. Bike runs smooth, strong and sounds fine.

I'm a total newbie to wrenching and in the process of getting a Service Manual

Any Suggestions? Thanks

Kevin_56

Site Supporter
Bike
20 R1250RT
STOC #
I averaged 34mpg running 93 Octane gas,
I have a 2003 and if I drive 55/60 and do not play drag race at stop lights or signs. I will get close to 50 mpg. That is a calculated number, not what the display says. My display is at least 5mpg low. Now if i encounter a strong head or quartering wind, the mileage will drop significantly.

The gas gauge woes are an area that I have not encountered. Have you let the gauge go to the blinking state? At that point you should have about 1.3 gallons left. It will take a little over 6 gallons to fill if you stop at the next station. Someone will be chiming in on how to correct the main tank level arm to get a better feedback of fuel used.

Enjoy and with throttle management you should get mid to upper 40's in fuel mileage.

OP
OP
164 miles then I filled up with 4.8 gallons of fuel. Gauge had two bars left. I filled up and drove 8 miles and two bars are already off full tank.

Kevin_56

Site Supporter
Bike
20 R1250RT
STOC #