Front brake issue- not releasing on 91

jim 91 st

Jim 91 ST1100
Bike
91 ST1100
I am having a perplexing brake issue on my 91 ST (non-ABS) with about 96k miles. I bought the bike with 62k on it and have never done anything to the brakes but pads.

When I took it out of (dry) storage a couple of months ago, I detected slight brake drag but attributed it to a soft tire. I started riding it and all was fine, no brake issues.

A few weeks ago, when backing the bike up first thing in the morning, I found the front brake to be almost locked up? very hard to roll, so I did not ride it of course. I bled the front brakes and all seemed fine again. Brake fluid looked OK and master cylinder was not spongy? very firm. From what I recall, I rode it a bit (to work) and had similar problems a couple of weeks ago, so I parked it assuming there was more to this problem. I then purchased a RF caliper off eBay and installed it yesterday. Bike rolled fine and brakes worked fine before I took RF caliper off. However, I still replaced it and noticed the old caliper pistons retracted just fine. I bled right side (only) very well and thought I was all set.

Result? Unable to turn front wheel by hand. So, I took left pads out and pistons retracted nicely I noticed. STILL unable to turn front wheel by hand (on my lift I should add). Wheel bearings were replaced about 20k miles ago, in case it is relevant.

So? what the heck is going on? Something in my bleeding? Something with master cylinder or collapsed brake line? I bet when I get home tonight wheel will turn again, as sitting ?seems? to affect it. I am suspecting brake line issue, but more of a guess for now.

I am at a loss as to what to replace next, hoping the collective wisdom on here (which I have not had a lot of need for, as the bike is so reliable!) will steer me in the right direction.