The red wire...or the blue wire????

Bike
2012 ST1300ABS
Trying to find the rear brake light wires to tap into for the brake lights on my Givi luggage box. Don't have my manual yet; wanted to access the brake lights directly, but ignitor is solidly wedged in the way, and I can't figure out how to remove the rear taillight lens. Where/how is the best place to tap into the rear brake lights? Thanks to all in advance.

Fatjock

STOC #8872
Bike
'18 Glowing Tour DCT
STOC #
I'm guessing by your username that you're talking about a 1300, so that rules me out. On an 1100, I did this on Saturday but on a 1300, I have no experience.

With any technical questions, it is always useful to post the year/model/spec of the bike in question, as part of the question.

SteveST1300

Site Supporter
Vendor
Bike
03&04 ST1300
STOC #
You can access the brake light wires from under the seat or you can remove the rear fender and access the screws to free up the lens and get to the wiresthat way. I don't remember the color of the wires you will need.

OP
OP
Zenbiker1300
Bike
2012 ST1300ABS
Thanks guys. Yes, ST1300. Can anyone direct me to an available wiring schematic, or even a downloadable bootleg manual? Not that such things exist, just wondering :D

PS- just noticed I'm listed as "Threadstarter"...feels sort of Stephen King-ish

Last edited:

dduelin

Tune my heart to sing Thy grace
Site Supporter
Bike
GL1800 R1200RT NC700
2024 Miles
STOC #
The ST1300 brake light wires are green with yellow stripe. The other wire is solid green - the ground wire.

ibike2havefun

Still above the sod
Site Supporter
Bike
Bikeless (9/29/2019)
STOC #
Thanks guys. Yes, ST1300. Can anyone direct me to an available wiring schematic, or even a downloadable bootleg manual?
Schematic I like the best (2006 non-ABS; close enough for jazz for most other model years AFAIK) can be found here.

You can find the 2003 owner's manual as a downloadable PDF here.

Bike
2010 ST1300
I'm cutting the red wi...