ST1300 fork seal replacement

Bike
2004 ST1300
Hey everyone. My name is Raybonz and I ride an 04 1300. While I put the front tire on after a change, I saw crud at the top of both forks. I've never done a fork of any kind before, but I'm going to do this one. Does Honda make an all inclusive seal kit with everything needed or do I look for individual parts? And, how hard is this? I have a Honda service manual and I have changed the head gasket on my 1100 in the past. Any and all help is much apperciated!!

Bike
ST1300A '05
STOC #
I've been meaning to put together a video on when I replaced my fork seals last summer... have not gotten around to the editing.
I'm riding an '05 with 150,000 km on it.
It is a relatively straight forward job although it does take up a wee bit of time. I consider myself moderately mechanically inclined and managed to do it in a puttering sort of day with many coffee breaks.
Since I was going to have the forks apart, I decided to put in heavier springs. I am very pleased with them.
I got all the parts from Race Tech. http://www.racetech.com/
This is a video that I found helpful when I was contemplating the work... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vrmYJgcGX30
I did not buy any specialized tools but did make a seal seating device from PVC pipe similar to what Delboy shows and I also made a spring suppressor out of some metal flatstock I had around.
repair 13 compressor in use.jpg

sky.high

Site Supporter
Bike
The Honda of the day
STOC #
Just done a racetech upgrade on my forks including seals see my other posts, it's pretty straight forward to do the seals make sure they are the right way up, use a plastic bag to protect the new seal, make sure the bushing is fully seated before fitting the seal, use a heat gun to remove andand replace the dust collar

Why notnot fit stiffer springs at the same time and improve the sag?

Bike
'97 ST1100
STOC #