Sounds like a chain rattle

Good evening all.

I'm afraid I'm new to the st1300 experience, and for the most part I'm loving it. Now that being said I'm noticing a persistent noise from the engine. It sounds like I have a loose chain (and yes I'm aware it's shaft drive hence the concern).

A little background if I may. My bike is a 2005 st1300 with 54000km on it. I've only had it for a few weeks but I've put on almost 2000km (smooth, and exciting kilometres). As soon as I got this bike I changed her oil and put in synthetic, filed the tank with premium gas, and rode for a couple of hours. Now when I'm getting out of the hole and not pushing her I got the rattle until about 3000rpm. Now it seems that unless I'm cruising at alreast 3300rpm the rattle persists. When I'm rising 2 up its constant regardless of the tach.

I'm concerned that this could be a sign of something serious and I'd like to address it before it causes any real damage. Any and all thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Neil

Blrfl

Natural Rider Enhancement
Bike
Fast Blue One
STOC #
Now when I'm getting out of the hole and not pushing her I got the rattle until about 3000rpm. Now it seems that unless I'm cruising at alreast 3300rpm the rattle persists. When I'm rising 2 up its constant regardless of the tach.
The engine in the ST (either of them) is nothing like the twin in the Suzuki you mention in your intro and can't be run the same way. This comes of frequently with riders who come from cruisers, and I went through a bit of it myself.

Read this thread, especially post 20 and make some adjustments to your riding. You'll find that the machine is a different beast when you're not [-]lugging the engine[/-] asking the engine to make torque where it doesn't.

--Mar

Bike
2010 ST1300