Q for guys who've crashed

Bike
'14 Honda Valkyrie
Just for the guys who have laid it down or crashed -- I'm wondering how many got right back on and how many ... didn't.

I've been riding for about 30 years. I had one accident on the bike that wasn't my fault about 13 years ago. Messed up my ST1300, but I got right back on as soon as it was fixed. Now I've just laid down my CTX for the second time in less than a year, this last time totaling it. Both times were my own fault, and luckily no one else was involved. I always ride geared up, so both times I was lucky enough to escape with minor scrapes and bruises.

The last time, back in October, I couldn't wait to get the bike back to get back on, even though confidence took a little hit. This time, though, as soon as it happened, I was actually hoping it was totaled because I really felt like I didn't want to ride any more. Now it's almost two weeks after the crash, two days after I agreed with insurance to total it, and I still have zero desire to replace it. The CTX1300 was the nicest bike I've ever owned, and hands-down my favorite. I could even get a new one now for less than I paid for that one. But the desire seems to be gone. I don't want another CTX, and there's absolutely nothing else out there creating even a hint of an itch. I'm also not a kid any more; at 58, that concern is now stronger than ever that the law of averages will catch up and the next time I might not be so lucky. And with two lay-downs causing pretty serious damage in such a short time, I'm of course feeling like it's a sure thing that there will be a next time.

I enjoyed riding, but I'm hardly what you could call hard-core, averaging maybe 3000 bike miles a year these last few years. But I've always had one in the garage since that first one, usually going out with a buddy for a day ride at least every couple of weeks. But right now, I just don't care if I ever ride again.