Waterproof bag with vent valve?

Bike
2003 ST1300
STOC #
Started the day in Tx at about 2000 ft and on the way up the Continental Divide, my waterproof bag (also air tight) blew up.

Is there a bag with a relief valve that would prevent that? Thanks.

T_C

Bike
2005 St1300
STOC #
Did you squeeze the extra air out of the bag before rolling it down? I've been using dry-bags for many years and never heard of anyone blowing one up.

No, never saw a vent. Pelican cases used to have a screw out plug for vacuum purposes when they were transported in the hold of a plane, now it's a Gore-tex mebrane.

John OoSTerhuis

Life Is Good!
Bike
1991 SSMST1100
STOC #
By "blew up" did you mean burst/damaged? What brand and model?

I don't have any experience with the problem, having been up and down from altitude with my Ortlieb duffel many times (waterproof enough for me!), but saw this one after a quick search: http://www.drybags.com/product/12602-ZD.html

You may even be able to retrofit your bag with a DIY aftermarket valve. Good luck.

John

OP
OP
MidLife
Bike
2003 ST1300
STOC #
By "blew up" did you mean burst/damaged? What brand and model?

I don't have any experience with the problem, having been up and down from altitude with my Ortlieb duffel many times (waterproof enough for me!), but saw this one after a quick search: http://www.drybags.com/product/12602-ZD.html

You may even be able to retrofit your bag with a DIY aftermarket valve. Good luck.

John
This is a duffel bag by Seattle Sports. Burst at a vulcanized seam, about 6 in long. Thinking same as you on the DIY. Roll down closure makes it difficult to evacuate all air.

if there's a mfg. defect, Seattle sports will replace. fwiw I've never heard of a welded seam giving out..... so take some pics and follow up with a call.

OP
OP
MidLife
Bike
2003 ST1300
STOC #
if there's a mfg. defect, Seattle sports will replace. fwiw I've never heard of a welded seam giving out..... so take some pics and follow up with a call.