Starting to plan next summer's Alaska Hwy ride. Input?

Bike
06 ST300 PA
hi guys; yeah, newbie here but I don't see where is best to ask for info on this ride. If it belongs somewhere else LMK.

I'm planning on driving the Alaska Hwy next summer (2018) but want to plan (aka training. That's what I am telling my wife) this summer with trips thru less-civilized parts of Ontario. Looking at areas north of North Bay etc.
The plan is to stay in motels 'fairly often' as various electronics will need charging and the bed and a nice shower just might be fully appreciated, but I want to have a full complement of camping gear so that if there is nothing available when I am ending my day, I can camp in relative comfort. Stove, coffee, food, etc... all in!

Also I have to be prepared for rain and cool weather; likely together, and getting prep'd for that is a goal too.
So..... that's all stuff I want to start preparing for this summer. Right now my bike is sitting still waiting for me to finish a project.. my carrot!
Any input from people who have done it appreciated. I am reading all the websites I can but first hand experience - where I can ask questions - is priceless!

thanks in advance
GP

Ron

Bike
ST1100s
STOC #
...The plan is to stay in motels 'fairly often' as various electronics will need charging and ...
Look into a power outlet for your bike. Lots things can be charged by a 12VDC charger.

Bike
2015 FJR1300
Banff, Jasper, The Ice Field Parkway, The Bus!, The Sign Post Forest

Heated gear
Waterproof Gear
Hotels and Gas aren't a problem, just don't push it.
Waterproof Gear
Heated Gear
Waterproof Gear
Etc

OP
OP
Bike
06 ST300 PA
Thanks Uncle Phil;
great links and pix! How many miles (hours, whatever) did you do gravel roads ASSUMING you were doing the main road - ie the 'side trip' that goes thru Dawson and Chicken etc - where is looks like it ALL is (wet) gravel....