Helmets Anyone Use a Half-helmet...

Bike
2010 Honda ST13
I don't wear a half helmet, but I do wear an open face helmet. I know that full face helmets are much more popular and offer significantly more protection, but they were rare when I started riding and I've gotten used to the completely unobstructed vision that an open face offers. For me, that unobstructed vision is part of the riding experience.

Bike
1999 ST1100
STOC #
No positives.
Full face only on my head. I kinda like my jaw, teeth, face.
I've seen up close what can happen with anything less than a real helmet..

plus..I'm not real fond of getting hit in the face with stuff, including the cold.

Last edited:
Bike
2000 ST1100
I saw a gal go down on her cruiser, Harley i think. She had some half helmet thing on that didn't protect her face. She did a face plant on the road. Not pretty. For me, full coverage modular style that flips the front up to talk at a gas station etc. and flip down for riding protection. I love this style and will never go back to a fixed full coverage style. Best of both worlds. No up side for not protecting your entire head including your face. Just my opinion. YMMV. Cheers.

Last edited:
Bike
92 ST1100
No positives.
Full face only on my head. I kinda like my jaw, teeth, face.
I've seen up close what can happen with anything less than a real helmet..

plus..I'm not real fond of getting hit in the face with stuff, including the cold.
+1 using full-face helemts. That you did Dean! Least I kept everything, but seriously, I took a hit with that 3/4 helmet!......Never again(HJC full coverage was in tail-trunk:rolleyes:).

Bike
2021 RE Meteor 350
Might aa well be in my car if I had to wear full face. Part of the "freedom" is feeling some wind in your face. However, I do wear an Arai CT-Z, a three quarter lid that has good chin protection, ventilation system and a flip up shield as well.

Attachments

SupraSabre

48 Years of SoCal Lane Splitting/Commuting-Retired
Site Supporter
Bike