Electrical Cut Out

Bike
97 ST1100
I'd just got off the highway and lost power about a half mile from home. I happened to have a multimeter on board and verified that the battery was at 12.56V. The clock is on. However, no headlights, signals, indicators or starter. Any suggestions as to where I should start looking for the problem? My first guess is a short near the ignition switch, but I'm a complete newbie.

Bike
2021 RE Meteor 350
You checked the voltage at the battery was usable, but did you check the tightness of the battery cables? Always the first place to look. Then the fuse panel.

Bike
2006 Honda st1300
I had that issue of the ST not starting. But I just installed an alarm system and checked the battery connections. Sure enough, the negative terminal was loose. Tightened the terminal, checked the positive terminal and it fired up.

kiltman

Site Supporter
Bike
2002,ST1100ABS
STOC #
I would concur with post #3, look at the connector at the main relay, it's probably melted. If it is you can splice in a new red wire with a spade connector and do the same with the other wires. Make sure you take a picture of the connector so that you can install the wires to the proper terminal in the relay. If not you may burn out the clutch diode and your neutral light will be displayed every time you pull in the clutch. ( the diode is located near the air cleaner under the false tank shelter on the left side in the wiring harness)

Bike
03 1300
My issue fwiw is a touchy kill switch. Yea, that red thing next to your right thumb. Don't touch it when on the interstate. Your heart might skip a beat or two.. So my fix is to not touch it!

Really should fix that some day.

OP
OP
Bike
97 ST1100
Hey fellas,