Intimidated by Maintenance for my ST1300

Bike
2010 ST1300
I admit it. I'm intimidated by maintenance issues on my 1300 unlike any other bike or car I've owned. I'm not a newby - I've been wrenching for almost 50 years - but never on anything as packed or modern as this beast. My most recent problems will serve as an example.

One fork seal was leaking, and I've not been happy with the compliance of the shocks, so I decided to install Gold Valves at the same time as the seal replacement. I was going to wait until winter, but the oil was approaching the brake calipers so I decided to do the work now. Two recent threads set the stage. The first described major trouble loosening the fork caps, and the second stuck screws at the bottom of the fork leg. Neither of these were evident on my bike - the caps were almost hand tight and the bottom bolts holding the fork cartridge broke loose cleanly and unscrewed easily. Installing longer spacers (+1/2") was a major deal, however. My Honda fork oil behaved like liquid Helium - it climbed the walls of the fork tube and coated the spacers just before I grabbed them trying to compress the spring and slip a slotted piece of metal under the rod's nut.