St1100 abs/TCS off buttons

Bike
Bandit 1200S
Hi,

I have recently acquired a st1100a (abs/TCS). I am new to the pan world so I'm not sure about some of the bodywork. I know that some of the pans I've seen have two buttons on the left hand side to turn the abs/TCS off? Mine doesn't appear to have these despite being an abs/tcs model. Is this normal or has the previous owner just changed the panel?

Slydynbye

Will ride for Pie
Bike
2000 ABSII
STOC #
What year is it? 94 98 and 2000 all had the buttons you are talking about if I remember right.
Not sure if all years did or not. There is a chance that ABS failed and someone covered it up.
Do your ABS lights come on in the dash when you turn on the ignition and go out when you have rolled up to speed?

OP
OP
Bike
Bandit 1200S
Ah, that could explain it! It's 1999, and the dash ABS light functions as it should. Didn't realise only some of the years had them. Not that I would want to turn them off anyway, just wondered about it.

kiltman

Site Supporter
Bike
2002,ST1100ABS
STOC #
The buttons need to be somewhere, or else you couldn’t reset the ABS after a trouble code. I would check under the left side pocket fairing. To see if the buttons are tucked in there.
when you say the lights light up and operate as they should....do the ABS red lights come on when you start the bike and turn off after you’ve ridden the bike a few feet?

Ron

Bike
ST1100s
STOC #
Some one probably replaced the panel with a non-ABS bike panel. Switches hanging inside the plastic parts and pieces. All '96 and newer ABS bikes have the buttons. Don't know about the pre-'96 models.

OP
OP
Bike
Bandit 1200S
The ABS button comes on when you turn the ignition and goes off after I've ridden a few metres, this is the same as on my bandit 1200 so I assume this is the normal for ABS bikes.