Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Loss of power/engine noise

Bike
    Bandit 1200S
    My Gallery

Loss of power/engine noise

Dear all,

I have a 99' st11 with ~50k miles. I bought it maybe 6 months ago.

I was riding at a steady speed of ~70mph (engine was warmed up) and I started to notice a loss of power. It would stutter and all of a sudden gain power again and judder forward. I have had this with a previous bike and it turned out to just be a fuel pipe. However, I tried to nurse it home as best I could but a couple of miles down the road I heard a couple of REALLY LOUD bangs that sounded like they were coming from the engine. At this point I pulled over, the engine died and I had to get recovered. The bike will start now, but obviously I am not sure what's wrong with it. It felt like it wasnt running on all four cylinders.

I am pretty new to Pans but the engine also sounds more noisy to me now, but I am not an expert on how it should sound. I just know it sounds different to me now. I am hoping it is something simple!

Bike
    ST1100W
    2017 Miles

My Gallery

Re: Loss of power/engine noise

More info would be good.
    Bang like a back fire?
    When you re started was there any blue smoke from exhaust.
    What's the oil level like.
    Had you done any work recently.
    Have you had the plugs out to see if they say anything other than loveliness.
    Upt'North.

Bike
    91 ST1100, 07 ST1300
    Tip Overs
    My Gallery

Any other symptoms you noticed?
    -fuel smells
    -over temp reading
    -water or oil leaks
    -water level
    -oil level
    -any indications of overtemp in the wiring around the battery or alternator?
    -what is the corrosion like in the area of the alternator...or around the rear of the alternator?

(Threadstarter)
    Bike
    Bandit 1200S
    My Gallery

Hi both,

I will try and provide as much information as possible.