6 point or 12 point wrenches?

Bike
2007 Honda ST1300A
Does anyone own/use any 6 point long pattern wrenches?
I find myself reaching more and more for the 6 points.
I'm looking at adding some new sets of SK Long pattern wrenches to my collection, and am thinking of both styles.
In sockets, I always use 6 point when I can, and 12 point if I need to.
However, given a choice of only one set of LP wrenches, would you chose 6 point or 12 point?
Just wondering.

Last edited:

mlheck

Site Supporter
Bike
'18 BMW K1600GTL
STOC #
I always use 6 point by default, sockets and wrenches. I do own a few of my granddads 12 point wrenches and they do come in handy when you're in a area with short throws. Even then I use a 6 point to break it free and then the 12 point to spin it off.

When I was a young mechanic and on my first job the old timers told me that 12 points were for light torque applications only. One rounded nut from using a 12 point and I lost my money on that job. Didn't take long to ditch my 12 points.

Long reach wrenches will generate more torque on the bolt or nut, thus increasing the chance of rounding a stubborn fastener.

That my $.02

Sent using Tapatalk

Last edited:

dduelin

Tune my heart to sing Thy grace
Site Supporter
Bike
GL1800 R1200RT NC700
2024 Miles
STOC #
I always use 6 point by default, sockets and wrenches. I do own a few of my granddads 12 point wrenches and they do come in handy when you're in a area with short throws. Even then I use a 6 point to break it free and then the 12 point to spin it off.

When I was a young mechanic and on my first job the old timers told me that 12 points were for light torque applications only. One rounded nut from using a 12 point and I lost my money on that job. Didn't take long to ditch my 12 points.

Long reach wrenches will generate more torque on the bolt or nut, thus increasing the chance of rounding a stubborn fastener.

That my $.02

Sent using Tapatalk