Helmets Looking for a Quiet Modular Helmet

JohnConner

Site Supporter
Bike
18 Goldwing Tour DCT
All,

I've been riding with a modular helmet for several years now. I really enjoy being able to pop open the helmet to get some air or feel less like Darth Vader when I'm talking to someone at a stop. One thing that bugs me over the standard full-face helmet is the noise of the modular. I have had a Scorpion 900, which I liked a lot for the slider tinted visor. The height could be adjusted so I could have untinted vision of the instruments and GPS, and still have a tinted road view. But I moved on as I bought it too small and would get headaches from the pressure on my TMJ. I now have a HJC Max II which has a locking, spring loaded tinted visor. It also is a little large on the top of my head in order to have my cheeks fit. And it leaks in the rain. (The Scorpion didn't.) Both of these were significantly noisier than the Scorpion 400 series that I had before.

I'm now ready to invest in a premium modular, if it will be worth it from a noise and comfort standpoint. So two questions to the group:
- Who makes a quiet modular?
- Who makes a modular that is compatible with a Sena bolted on the left side lip?

The second question is because upon reviewing helmets at RevZilla I noticed things like the Nolan 104, Scheuberth C3, Scorpion 3000 and a few others, have the visor slider on the left rim of the helmet, right about where a Sena or other BT headset would bolt on.

So does anyone have any advice, based on experience with your helmet choices? Don't want this to turn into a gripe session but would like to hear what you think, good and bad, about your modular, on noise levels and comfort.

Thanks!

JohnConner
: bgw1:
:usflag1:

Last edited:
Bike
2007 ST1300A
Hi,
Like you I am ready to invest in a premium modular helmet.