Replace gear-wheel for windshield unit

PANik

MacGyver
Vendor
Bike
GL1800 & ST1300
Hi all

I was searching a replacement gear-wheel for my windshield unit but I can't found. It seams not possible to order. A full windshield unit cost approx. 500 Euros/Dollars and is very expensive (for only one worn part of it).
So, I'm an Engineer and I designed a new one and it works pretty fine. It's a 3D printed part (steel material).

For this season I will look on my prototype in use on this testing phase. When it works fine so far, I will present you the solution for ordering.
The costs of a part is approximatly 75$ without shippment.

What do you think about it?

Scheibenritzel neu V4 19.02.2018.jpg

the Ferret

Daily rider since May 1965
Bike
21 NC750 14 CB1100
2024 Miles
Looks like a drawing lol. Looks good I guess, never seen the inside of mine and hope not to. But $75 sure beats $500.

SupraSabre

48 Years of SoCal Lane Splitting/Commuting-Retired
Site Supporter
Bike
12/04 ST 1300s
2024 Miles
STOC #
That would be excellent..let us know once you've been able to test it to make sure it will hold up and not wipe out the cables too! :D

OP
OP
PANik

PANik

MacGyver
Vendor
Bike
GL1800 & ST1300
Yes, the picture is a 3D-drawing but It's not my first real trial!
The upper part on picture is a copy of the original part. It was wear down quick. The tooth of gear are to short. lower part was the first with really gear tooth. I don't dismantle the part before, I had only informations from a friend.
TestRitzel.jpg

ST Gui

240Robert
Site Supporter
Bike
ST1300, 2010
So, I'm an Engineer and I designed a new one and it works pretty fine. It's a 3D printed part (steel material).

A replacement gear would be great. I don't know what goes first— the gear or the cables. Apparently the cables can sometimes be successfully rotated for new grip. No such luck for a bad gear.