Article [13] ST1300 - Spoiler fitting

Hope the following is of use to people. I think this could be a supplement to the instructions for fitting a Honda Top Box.

What follows is an account of the fitting of the spoiler and brake light to my bike. I'm not a Honda mechanic, just a complete amateur. You would probably get better advice from a real Honda mechanic. If you blow up your bike, don't come crying to me!

Please note that I don't have this bike anymore, so the advice I can offer is limited.

A word document of this is available upon request, but I don't have a means of converting this into a PDF file. If anyone wishes to oblige, feel free.

Installation of the Honda rear spoiler with red lens

This article is in two parts. The first part covers fitting the spoiler to the Honda top box. The second part covers fitting the wiring harness to the bike to allow the use of the additional brake light.

This article is intended for ST1300 models fitted with the Honda top box.
First of all a warning. In order to fit the spoiler, you have to drill six holes in your top box. Please remember the old adage of ?measure twice, cut once? as drilling in the wrong place will leave a gaping hole in your top box. Please refer to the supplied instructions at all times, and if in doubt, contact your local dealer.

For the purpose of this article, left and right assume that the top box is fitted to the bike and you are facing forwards.

1. On the inside of the top box, locate the five dimples in the plastic which correspond with the centre of the spoiler mounting holes. Three of these are shown in pic 1. If you are not sure that you have the correct dimple, check the locations against the bolt holes on the spoiler.