Quick test of Motorcycle Battery...

RCS

I am new to motorcycles with batteries so with colder months coming I read about how to test them. Below is what I've learned. Is this right? Is there a better way to get a quick replace/don't replace reading?

Steps:

1. Make sure battery is fully charged.
2. Turn on high beams for three minutes to eliminate "surface charge" in battery.
3. Put a Voltmeter on battery.
4. Volts should be in the 12.3 volt(V) to 12.6V range.
5. Perform load test A - turn on ignition/headlight but don't start engine. Voltmeter should show at least 11.2V. If reading is less than 10V, replace the battery.
6. Perform load test B - watch voltmeter while starting motorcycle. If volts dip below 10V, during the starting process, replace the battery. (the video below is only a small part of information I've read/watched on the internet)

http://www.expertvillage.com/video/18218_motorcycle-battery-two.htm

Also note from MCNews article (http://www.mcnews.com/mcnews/articles/battery.htm) - "A fully charged battery is only 65% as strong at 32? as it was at 80?, and at zero, it drops to only 40% capacity."

Last edited:
OP
OP
RCS

RCS

Update:

I inherited this battery with the 2004 bike. It is a Power-Sonic Super Sport Series PTZ14S. According to my internet searches it costs $74 and generates 145 CCA versus the Yuasa YTZ14S that generates 230 CCA. Stamped on the battery is "H01" which, according to the manufacturer, means the battery was manufactured in January 2008.

The battery passed all the tests in my previous post (above) with flying colors. So, since I'll be riding great distances in cold weather should I upgrad to the Yuasa with 230 CCA or take my chances?

(The technician at Batterystuff.com said that the Power-Sonic battery should be fine if I'm not parking the bike outside overnight. Also that Powersonic was conservative in designating their CCA and Yuasa more liberal.)

Last edited:

Mellow

Joe
Admin
Bike
'21 BMW R1250RT
2024 Miles