10 Days On A VFR1200

Uncle Phil

Site Supporter
In The Holler West Of Nashville, Tennessee
Bike
4 ST1100(s)
2024 Miles
STOC #
The following is my opinion and opinions are like arm pits - everybody usually has a couple and they tend to stink from time to time! :D. I post this as what I experienced relative to my experience, not as promotion, defense or condemnation of the VFR1200. As I always say, I like to hear from folks that have shot the gun, not read a book about shooting a gun so here it goes.

My background is 40+ years of riding on two wheels, 220,000+ miles on ST1100s, 8,000+ miles on ST1300s, and now 1,800+ miles on the new VFR1200 with the full compliment of Honda luggage including the trunk. I rode the bike in all sorts of weather - from hard crosswinds, to pouring rain, dense fog, cold, some heat - and all sorts of roads ? from piled up gravel, pot hole havens, butter smooth motorways, twisty single lanes (yes single lanes!). I did two days of two up, loaded as heavy as you can get it with a big tank bag, then 8 days of solo. I did solo riding, small group riding and larger group riding. And there was a serious tip over involved, so I even know how much that costs and what damage can occur. So the VFR1200 and I experienced in 10 days just about all the stuff most folks would encounter in their riding except for doing basic maintenance. So here?s my story and I?m sticking to it!