timing belt age limit

My 99 st1100 has 23k miles and the timing belt will soon be 12yrs old.
Is there a limit too when they are unsafe due to age?
steve

Mark

Gotta make tracks
Bike
KTM 525exc
STOC #
I have only heard of a mileage limit on the belts, not a time limit.

My '01 had it's changed at over 110,000 and I had to be careful that I used the right one... it looked that good...

Mark

W0QNX

Blacksheep Tribal Member
Bike
06/ST1300 19/R1250RT
2024 Miles
I'm no expert but I don't even think there is a mileage limit on the belt. Does the manual say "replace" or "inspect/check" the belt at 100,000?

Raymond

Bike
1991 ST1100
STOC #
The answer is an unqualified yes. There is a time limit on the timing belt.

Just seems that nobody has had an 1100 long enough to find that limit, yet....
Based on the mileage on my '91 when I bought it, I'm guessing mine has the original timing belt. Planing on changing this winter.

Ralph Sims

Ross Smith

Ross
Bike
1999 St1100
I think there are just too many variables to say what would be a safe time limit for the age of a belt. May also be why my Honda shop manual gives no combined distance / time limit, only distance. That maximum service interval is every 144k km.

It does recommend periodic belt inspections every 96k km. That is not hard to do and doesn't require any parts replacement. Look at the condition of your belt and check it for cracks and fraying on both sides using a very bright flashlight.