2000 ABS II , Bleeding (Front) Brakes - Replacing line off of master cylinder

JJames

Site Supporter
Bike
2000 ST 1100 ABS II
My RDL seat put me higher and further back on the ST , or one could say- the handle bars are lower and further forward. So I got a set ROX 3,5 Risers. Tried them on to see what more I needed to make them work. After some rerouting , It turns out only the brake hose off the master cylinder needs to be longer , by about 6" .
Anyway that hose runs into the brake modulator(?) box . I have no experience with dealing these. How does one go about bleeding ? As if it wasn't there ? Thanks

Uncle Phil

Site Supporter
In The Holler West Of Nashville, Tennessee
Bike
4 ST1100(s)
2024 Miles
STOC #
IIRC, there is a 'clip' on the hose down on the forks that if you loosen it you can get a little more length.
But probably not 6 inches.
The bleeding instructions are probably on this website somewhere and in the Honda Service Manual.

OP
OP
JJames

JJames

Site Supporter
Bike
2000 ST 1100 ABS II
IIRC, there is a 'clip' on the hose down on the forks that if you loosen it you can get a little more length.
But probably not 6 inches.
The bleeding instructions are probably on this website somewhere and in the Honda Service Manual.
The hose runs pretty strait now (dosent go though the forks like it did) . I would have thought 3,5 longer hose would have done the trick , but no. Geometri -strange stuff.

Smudgemo

Intermodal Man of Mystery
Bike
'08 GS / '78 CB550
I replaced mine last fall to compensate for the helibars I added and I used a reverse bleeder to avoid all the goofing around getting air out of the system. It actually worked really well because it probably only had to move air up out of that one line rather than down through all the plumbing.