91 ST1100 alternator concern

SHEMWATSON77

Avid Rider
Bike
ST1100
First off, Im not an expert and dont have the tools yet to adequately determine whether I have a problem. All I know is that my lights flicker when I rev the engine, so that at idle they dim. Also when I connected my heated grips there is a protection circuit that flickers showing that the voltage is reading lower than optimal. Ive heard alot about the poor stock alternators and so am concerned but should I be? I have a heated vest in the mail that Im going to run off a USB charger. Im hoping there wont be a problem. If there was what should I look for please?

Slydynbye

Will ride for Pie
Bike
2000 ABSII
STOC #
First things first, Check for a loose battery connection, then check the red connector left side of the bike.
Look for burnt terminals. with luck it's just bad connections or corrosion.

Bike
91 ST1100/06 ST1300
+1 on the connections, check for corrosion and looseness per above.
Check out your battery.
Check out the VRR (voltage regulator/rectifier)
Inspect the wires form the alternator to the connector for overtemp indications.
Check every connector in the battery for burned insulation, corrosion (fuzzy blue/green and fuzzy gray).
Perform the resistance check on the wires from the alternator...wire to wire and wire to ground...there are three yellow wires.
You will be able to find details and photos if you search on "St1100 alternator'.

ST Gui

240Robert
Site Supporter
Bike
ST1300, 2010
I have a heated vest in the mail that Im going to run off a USB charger.
Could you elaborate on that? Brand of vest and charger?

It doesn't seem like most USB chargers could handle the wattage of a vest. I haven't heard of a vest that runs off of a 5V supply (not that it means anything). Are you going to use a USB battery pack?

[Bit by the gator]

Ok a quick search showed a few of these but they run off a USB battery/charger and not a charger proper.