A boot for the SMC boot?

Bike
2006 ST1300
More years ago than I care to admit, when I was a Penniless Student Oaf, there was a company called Vivo Sport and they made a thing called the Grunge Guard. It was a (patented!) rubber boot that completely enclosed a bicycle's rear derailleur from hanger bolt to tensioner pivot, and was supposed to keep out the mud and SKOG that the rear mech would pick up from mountain biking (or commuting, or any kind of riding in Britain, really). I bought one and over the months I found it did an excellent job of 1) not quite keeping all the grunge out of the parallelogram, and 2) not quite letting it drain out again. Of course, as a bicycle mechanic I should have known better than to just leave it in place and never check it, though I can't really believe I would have done that. I was probably too busy with exams.

The long and short of it was that my fancy* Shimano derailleur wore out much too quickly; I moved on to better† things, and I think I threw that rubber boot in the bucket.

Having recently splurged on a new SMC that has, thankfully, solved¥ the brake problems that sidelined my bike for so long, and having seen the utter mank in the old SMC when I took it to bits, I got to wondering how I might prevent it rusting all over again. The late, great bicycle designer, Mike Burrows, described how bearings in hubs and pedals and cranks tended to wear out owing to an "excess of environment" – which is exactly what the Grunge Guard sought to ameliorate. So I look at my shiny new SMC and I think, "y'know, that little rubber boot is the only protection the plunger and piston have against everything they'll encounter", and "why didn't Honda include a bleed nipple at the piston end?" and "why isn't all this made of out of stainless steel?" and "why is no-one making a pattern part?". I look at the old SMC, with its rubber boot now more than a little loose at the seams, and I think "well, quite".