another empty saddle

Bike
2006 ST 1300
STOC #
Last November, my riding buddy of thirtyfive years suddenly and unexpectedly passed away from an aeortic anurism. Bob McKee and I started riding minibikes as kids, and it was he who convinced me last year to step up to the ST from my old beemer. He had been riding his wineberry 1100 for seven years and I my old airhead. In 2006, on a particularly hot day, my airhead gave up the ghost at the git-back leg of a great ride around Mt. Lassen. After that, it was only a matter of time before he cajoled me into my new bike. Last summer, I talked him into going to Westoc with me. We took our bikes up to Redmond, met a bunch of you guys, and had a blast doing the Olympic run and one over the Cascades. He loved it. I was certain that I would be able to get him to go with me to Taos this year.
Bob was the kind of guy who loved to live life with passion and purpose. He was a gifted mechanic, and taught me the joy of fixing it myself early on. It is hard for me to imagine a riding season without him, but everytime I climb on the bike, I kinda feel like he is still there. There are a lot of people out there who have a "Bob" in their life, and I urge you not to miss every opportunity to take that ride with them. Take lots of pictures, and build lots of memories. You never know when the opportunity to do so will vanish.
I don't know if I'll have the heart to go to Taos without him this year, but I hope to make it to another Westoc and raise a toast to him then.
Mike

Austin city limits

R.I.P. - 2010/11/19
Rest In Peace
East Central Illinois... 12 miles from Moonshine..
Bike
2006 ST1300 ABS
You very correct Mike... We all,,, have at LEAST 1 fellow rider who we no longer get to share a Curve/Blue Ridge Parkway/Coast Highway/Laugh with... If we have rode a while,,, we have many to take along with us when we ride...