Dashboard lights

Bike
1991 ST1100
Had a couple of bulbs not working, so I replaced them with LED’s. Just thought I’d share the parts info and results.
Mark

Attachments

Bike
1999 Honda ST100
How do you find the brightness at night? I've thought about replacing some of my dash lights with LED's but I don't want my dash to be distractingly bright. Does anybody know of an easy way to incorporate a dimmer into the dash lighting?

Obo

Bike
'03 ST1300A
How do you find the brightness at night? I've thought about replacing some of my dash lights with LED's but I don't want my dash to be distractingly bright. Does anybody know of an easy way to incorporate a dimmer into the dash lighting?
Unless the LED state they are dimmable a dimmer won't work. You'll have full brightness until the voltage goes low enough and the LED's just turn off.

OP
OP
Mark2864
Bike
1991 ST1100
This is my first try with the LED’s. The blue looks excellent! They are not too bright at all. I bought some white ones too, but haven’t tried them yet. I didn’t change the bulbs in the idiot lights or turn signals because I didn’t see a need; just changed the back lights for the gauges.

CYYJ

Michael
Bike
None any more.
STOC #
How do you find the brightness at night?
Do come back and let us know what you think of the brightness level after you have done a long night ride out in rural (unlit) areas.

My big concern about replacing dash lights with LED bulbs on the ST 1100 is excessive brightness - I think Honda got the night light levels of the instruments "perfect" with the OEM incandescent bulbs, hence I don't think there is much to be gained by replacing them with LEDs. FWIW, I've only had one original bulb burn our in 20 years and 150,000+ miles.

Michael

OP
OP
Mark2864
Bike
1991 ST1100
Do come back and let us know what you think of the brightness level after you have done a long night ride out in rural (unlit) areas.