Food for thought on long distance riding

Good video. He does a good job. I've ridden all my life but I'm fairly new to touring. What works for me is sticking to the plan. Every 200 miles, a break and 300 on the last leg hasn't been a problem as the evening rest is a good goal to dangle in my mind. A piece of fruit or some decent snack with a either water or a hydrating drink on the break and maybe walk around a little. I wish more gas station marts carried G2 Gatorade; less sweet and to me much more refreshing. Funny I do the same stretch moves he mentions; I thought that was my creation lol. I will also do sets of partial squats raising a couple inches off of the seat, seems to regenerate the butt well. I have no intention of ever going 1000 miles in a day. 700 a day gets me where I'm headed and I enjoy the experience much more.

Every 200 miles, a break and 300 on the last leg hasn't been a problem as the evening rest is a good goal to dangle in my mind. A piece of fruit or some decent snack with a either water or a hydrating drink on the break and maybe walk around a little.... I have no intention of ever going 1000 miles in a day. 700 a day gets me where I'm headed and I enjoy the experience much more.
That how I roll including the G2 (throttle tamer and Gator Ade). I think I've done only two 800mi days and those were last leg days and a little more than I'd like.

Riding any distance is done with my two riding buddies and we like to finish a leg before dusk when various critters wander out. My ST buddy has three deer hits to his previous ST. None have taken it down though.

As one who has experienced first hand dehydration it is no joke. I won't go into the long detail but the first thing that i pack on my bike is a 6 pack of water and drink a bottle or two every 100 to 150 miles. very scarry when you go to pee and what little comes out looks the color of dark coffee with cream in it.
Too much information man. Lol.... :rofl1: