Free Technical Information

ST1300 Alicia

aka GSA Girl & KLR Girl
Site Supporter
Bike
BMW R1200GSA
This is a great source for Free Technical Information.

http://www.autoshop101.com/
https://www.princeton.edu/ssp/64-tiger-cub-1/64-data/combustion-chemistry.pdf

As some of you know I had another Life and Career in the Automotive Field.
I hold an AA Degree in Automotive Technology and have over 25 years experience in that field. I Was an ASE Certified Master Technician with an L1 Certificate, a Toyota Master Technician and a Toyota Master Diagnostic Technician.
I've been out of the Mechanical Career Field for over 12 years and I am now a Registered Respiratory Therapist.
The Website listed above has thousands of pages of free information used in the factory training of Toyota and Lexus Techs. This information could be very useful in understanding how our Motorcycles Operate. I see posts that demonstrate that sometimes our members are applying faulty logic and reasoning in their Diagnostics and Decision Making Process Regarding the Mechanical Operation of their Bikes. I just posted on one of the Threads with some information that could be helpful. You can go to the above Website and research how an O2 sensor works. More about Brakes and Anti-Lock Systems than you want to know. There are 18 study Modules on electrical systems. There is one 9 page module on the Chemistry of Combustion. When I'm looking for answers to a problem I have, I often go to this Free Site for very up to date information. Not everything applies to motorcycles and sometimes Automotive is more advanced than we are, but we will be there.
I'm not very smart sometimes, But I Know Where To Look!
I hope that this site could help clear some muddy water or make someones day simpler.

Last edited:

DaveyB

Thanks for posting a great resource ... added to bookmarks and I've got a lot of reading to do!!!

Norm

Vendor
Bike
KLR650
STOC #