I broke off my left muffler removing it from the collector (1999 ST1100)

jerryvolkers

Site Supporter
Bike
1999 ST1100Y
I have been riding my 2009 ST1100 since 2009, now it has over 171,000kM on the clock.
There has been an exhaust leak from where the right side 2 into 1 enters the collector, getting progressively louder every year, and I've had a decent set of exhaust pipes in the garage rafters for 4 years waiting to be installed.
This week I bit the bullet and started taking things apart, planning to reuse my original Honda silencers. Much Tupperware to remove, many bolts to spray with penetrating fluid! The right muffler came undone fairly easily but not the left! It looks like I left a significant part of the muffler pipe inside the collector clamp.
Oh no, is fleabay my only hope now?

IMG_0516.JPG

Bike
98 & 99 ST1100
STOC #
A local muffler ship may be able to grind to solid metal and weld a new extension pipe on it to match the other.

Uncle Phil

Site Supporter
In The Holler West Of Nashville, Tennessee
Bike
4 ST1100(s)
2024 Miles
STOC #
The heat shields are also a major problem because of the bolts they used to attach them.
I installed a Delkevic stainless steel headers on one of mine and have been really happy with them.

Bike
2010 ST1300
I looked on ebay for these earlier this week. They were running from $60-$70 and a few for $100 - all USD.

OP
OP
jerryvolkers

jerryvolkers

Site Supporter
Bike
1999 ST1100Y
Thanks for the quick replies folks, I'll try to take the pieces to a local welding/muffler shop here in Winnipeg tomorrow, will let you know how it goes!

Bike
2010 ST1300