My new old bike

bdalameda

PaleoCyclist
Bike
Africa Twin
Haven't been posting much lately. I have been spending a lot of time restoring a 1976 Suzuki RE5 Rotary engine bike. Just took it out today for its first ride since finishing it today. It sure does turn heads. This is actually my third RE5 having purchased a new one in 1975 and another one in the early eighties. I actually was factory trained by Suzuki on the RE5 Rotary in 1975 when I worked as a mechanic at a Suzuki dealership. Strange bikes but surprising good handling and quite reliable. Very short range and the fuel economy is not the best at about 35 mpg if you really are careful. Here are some pics.

Attachments

I always liked the RE5. I had a 74 GT750 Water Buffalo. Great bikes. Looks like good restore,Bring her east so I can finish the testing for you.:D

Fortunet 1

Fortunet1
Bike
06 ST 1300
I had forgotten entirely that these once existed, till I spotted one at the International bike show in San Mateo last weekend. There was a small group of restored Japanese bikes along a wall and
one was this rotary engine RES. I had a good chat with the fella that owned it, and apparently he liked my interest in asking about it.
I am so glad you posted this because now I may have the opportunity to actually hear it running someday... being that I'm only 40 mins away from you.

Thanks for posting this up ! :hat2:

Bike
2006 ST1300
Very cool! Two of those started in the 2009 Iron Butt Rally. I like anything strange and odd...and the RE5 fits the bill!

Sent from my PB99400 using Tapatalk

Firstpeke

NT1100D
Bike
Honda NT1100
STOC #
Beautiful machine, they are an interesting bike for sure..... the power, if I remember, comes in like a deluge, but it winds up so quick you can barely keep up with the gear changes..... in reality not that powerful a bike from a torque perspective, but being a rotary it was very revvy and quick.....