Pan (A9) 1300 started, then stopped after winter lay up!!

Hi Im a newbie, hope this is the right place for this topic? My Pan 1300 had been outside all winter and had a flat batt. After charging up, it started fine for perhaps 40 seconds (auto choked) then very quickly seemed to be running only on two cylinders. I turned it off, tried to restart - ran very rough for a few seconds, engine now spins happily on the starter motor but not firing at all!! Any ideas?

OP
OP
Sounds like no fuel is entering the engine. I'm not familiar enough with 1300s to guess why.
Thanks Larry, yes, I wonder if the the fuel is a bit stale and possibly some water has crept in over the winter!! Tank is low (2 bars) Maybe mix in some fresh fuel and give another go? Can you remove one of the spark plugs and lay against engine to check for sparks while cranking on this engine?

Bike
2010 ST1300
If I suspected water in the fuel, I'd pull the cover on the lower tank and look. Depending on the age of your bike, your fuel filter might be clogged and rust might have started chewing away at metal pieces. While you have the tank open you can also test the fuel pump. Don't forget you will need a new gasket for the cover.... You sound like you already know, but every book on auto repairs suggests filling the tank all the way up before storing the vehicle (unless for a long long time, in which case, empty it).

OP
OP
If I suspected water in the fuel, I'd pull the cover on the lower tank and look. Depending on the age of your bike, your fuel filter might be clogged and rust might have started chewing away at metal pieces. While you have the tank open you can also test the fuel pump. Don't forget you will need a new gasket for the cover.... You sound like you already know, but every book on auto repairs suggests filling the tank all the way up before storing the vehicle (unless for a long long time, in which case, empty it).