Pilot Road Fan Goes for PR2s

Bones

Your Humble Scribe
Bike
2014 BMW R1200RT
STOC #
Yes, I've been a Pilot Road fan since my first set in 2005. Like Curt, I got a set of PR's gratis from Dave at Motorace in return for our opinions of one of the few tires available for a 120/70ZR18. After 5,000 miles on the PRs, I concluded that I liked their dry handling, wet handling, and linear turn-in, but didn't like the noise they made. A Clearview GT Small, which improved air flow considerably, made the "PR hum" all the more noticeable. ("Am I driving a semi?") Earplugs or earbuds calmed the hum.

Conclusion: I ended up purchasing two more sets of PRs with my own money. Each time I got 8,000 good miles, although like every bike tire I've ever had they seem to go from "still pretty good" to "wow, these suck" in just a few hundred miles.

With ONSTOC on the horizon I decided to replace the latest set of PRs, which were just shy of the wear bars after 8,000 miles. I ordered PR2s from Two Brothers (I'd buy from them again...friendly, fast, cheap) and my buddy Dave (different Dave than Motorace) helped me put them on yesterday.

A couple observations:
  • If you install your own tires, prepare for a major event to get a PR2 on the back rim. If you use a No-Mar, use the system (the Yellow Thing was a help, as was the Gold Wing tire iron).
  • Another buddy of mine swears by balancing the rims, then mounting the tires. Last time I changed tires we did that and it worked...no more weights needed. This time we left those weights on the rims. The tires must be in perfect balance...again, tires on rims needed no additional weights.