Possibility of damage from faulty O2 sensor?

Bike
ST1300A
Hi all,

My '04 started showing an O2 sensor warning on the way back during my last ride. Unfortunately, I don't have the resources to get it looked at at the moment but still need to be able to ride it.

Is there any chance of damaging the bike by riding it? Or, worse, having it stop and end up stranded?

Bike
98 & 99 ST1100
STOC #
I have no ST13 experience, but with most engines if the front sensor fails, the FI goes into open loop mode and runs a map that is richer than what the O2 sensor and closed loop would have been running. The long term risk is damage to the oxidation catalyst. It can even get hot enough from the extra fuel to melt the lattice and plug the exhaust. Again, general experience rather than ST13 specific.

Bike
R1200rt
In auto once the code is there it looks at stored blocks of same data , o2, map, throttle, temp, air temp and maf. the block that come closest to what ever sensors are reading it will make fuel adjustments to a similar stored block, That where the expression the car need to learn how you drive comes from. The danger come is when a sensor doesn't fail preset parameters and the computer can't make good decisions. there is most likely a fail safe mode that honda has so you can continue to ride safely

wjbertrand

Ventura Highway