Vacuum canister with check valve

Bike
2006 ST1300
Hi All
I have always felt like a bit of a leech on here by taking everyones great info & not leaving much in return. So here goes on something I found might help you. I just installed the Audiovox cruise control & after riding I noticed on hills it wouldnt hold the speed. (plenty of goat trails here in BC to climb). So I found a few posts here where guys added check valves & some canisters which helped. As a Chrysler tech I remembered in the old days that we used a canister which came with a check valve built inside this was used for the vacuum heater controls. Dodge Part# 4677204. I was glad to see it was still available & ordered it aprox $10. It's size made it easy to install,I just put it in the vacuum line as it came out near the rear of the airbox. The wide side goes to engine vacuum. I tried it out & it works great. Makes for a nice clean install & fits the vacuum lines perfectly. Hope this helps.

Attachments

Last edited:

Bigmak96

R.I.P. - 2021/08/07
Rest In Peace
Bike
04 GL1800 Past tense
STOC #
Do you know yet if the small volume has helped with holding speed?

OP
OP
Optimus
Bike
2006 ST1300
Do you know yet if the small volume has helped with holding speed?
So far so good It will hold the speed. One time it dropped 1 km/hr maybe 2 but really compared to the 10km/hr I dropped before it that's ok. I doubt however on real steep hills if I could accelerate using the cruise but really not a big deal just as long as it keeps the speed I'm happy.

Bigmak96

R.I.P. - 2021/08/07
Rest In Peace
Bike
04 GL1800 Past tense
STOC #
I will have to get one ordered then. One of these days I will get mine installed.
Thanks for letting us all know about this nice compact option.

Bike
ST1100 & ST1300
STOC #