Wiring in GPS

Bike
2014 ST1300
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am a complete noob at wiring/electrics.

I bought a Garmin Zumo 396 GPS. It needs to be wired into the bike and I don't have the first clue where to start. As you can see from the pics below, it comes with a wiring harness (?) that has two leads, one red and one black. I understand the red is the power and the black is the ground. The end of the wires are bare. Do I need to simply attach to the battery terminals or do I need to put some sort of plug on the end and plug into what appears to be a fuse or connection box of some type (pic 2).

Thanks for any assistance in advance.

Wiring harness.jpgFuse box.jpgWiring on bike.jpg

ST Gui

240Robert
Site Supporter
Bike
ST1300, 2010
So just red wire to red terminal and black wire to black terminal? Or do I attach the black to the frame somewhere to ground?
You could probably do either. It's just as easy to run both to the battery as it is just the + lead so I'd do both. You'll have to remember to turn it off (if there's no auto-off) every time you stable your bike or possibly for a long lunch or dinner. Or maybe removing it from the cradle would be adequate. The 1300's battery would rather not see a drain for any length of time. Others would want to run it to a relay box or possibly a switched power lead.

Bike
'06 ST 1300
STOC #
So just red wire to red terminal and black wire to black terminal? Or do I attach the black to the frame somewhere to ground?
mine is wired direct to my battery. it only comes on if i hit the power button on the zumo, i think it will power up if the unit is inserted in the cradle and yes i have to manually turn it off. i'm ok with that

Bike
2010 ST1300
Thanks very much for all the replies, I really appreciate it.