2000 st1100 knocking noise and oil coming out of one carb

Hey guys,

I'm new to honda V4 world (been everything but that for past 15 years) anyways I got a st1100 with 6k miles yes believe it or not that is the actually millage anyways bike runs kind of rough it quiet when under load but once you roll the throttle back it makes noise almost like valves were suuupppperrrrrrrrrr lose or timing was off ( i checked the timing and everything seems to line up properly) I checked the plugs 3 r dry one is wet I think that would be cylinder that somehow pisses oil into the carb maybe (with would maybe explain engine bogging at 4-5k rpm)? Anyways any help would appreciated if someone is local in Bay Area CA then maybe we could meet up and somebody could take a look at it.

Thanx guys

Bike
'97 ST1100
STOC #
is the bad plug from the rear right cylinder? If so, it may have gotten fouled by a failing vacuum fuel shutoff valve. If that's the case, its an easy fix.

wjbertrand

Ventura Highway
Not sure I understand how oil from the engine gets into the carburetor???

As for the noise, there have been a few reports of the timing gear pulley bearing in the head going bad. When that happens the seal goes with it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Slydynbye

Will ride for Pie
Bike
2000 ABSII
STOC #
Check the oil level, if it is over half in the sight glass it could cause noise and oil into the air cleaner and carbs.

Bike
1995 ST1100
STOC #
Be sure to check the oil sight glass with the bike on the center stand.A

Also if that bike sat for a while you might have to go through the carb bowls - make sure needles are clean and fuel needle valves are not stuck.

Bike
2005 ST1300
STOC #
A little oil mist in the airbox is normal, there is a crankcase vent pipe that connects to the underside of the airbox on the right side; lots of oil there is not normal and may be a sign that the engine is over-full of oil.