Replacing a headlight bulb-ST1100

Bike
93' ST1100
STOC #
I know it has been beat to death by people with far more knowledge then I but here goes........
I replaced the factory headlight buld 45/45 with an H4/9003 and it worked with little effort on my part. I am not a mechanic but i'm not an idiot either. After reading ALL the previous entries related to this subject I dove in head first and attempted this transition myself.
I have very large hands and forearms and YES, it is very tight and you will get scraped a little.
WITHOUT using the adapter that most suggest to use it simply bent the lower tabs up and slid the bulb into place (patience is the key). Putting the clip back on wasn't as bad as i thought it would be either.
Total time it took was 30 minutes (5-10 of those minutes were spent cursing about what a bad idea this was).
BUT, if i can do it anyone can. Its true, the nightime difference is better. A wider path and marginally longer beam but still better then the factory.
Hope this helps those of you considering making the change.

JCB

Bike
2008 Goldwing
STOC #
Re: Replacing a headlight bulb

I know it has been beat to death by people with far more knowledge then I but here goes........
I replaced the factory headlight buld 45/45 with an H4/9003 and it worked with little effort on my part. I am not a mechanic but i'm not an idiot either. After reading ALL the previous entries related to this subject I dove in head first and attempted this transition myself.
I have very large hands and forearms and YES, it is very tight and you will get scraped a little.
WITHOUT using the adapter that most suggest to use it simply bent the lower tabs up and slid the bulb into place (patience is the key). Putting the clip back on wasn't as bad as i thought it would be either.
Total time it took was 30 minutes (5-10 of those minutes were spent cursing about what a bad idea this was).