Avon Storm problems. . . .

GDI

Bike
2000 ST1100
Hi!

I don't post here much at all, but I've got a ST-related problem, so thought I'd take it to you folks.

I just got done mounting an Avon Storm on the front of my 2000 Honda ST1100 (27,000 miles). This is the 3rd tire I've mounted on the front, and the first Avon I've ever had. It is wobbling and shimmying from 30 to 50 speeding up, slowing down, cruising, you name it. It's bucking like a bronco.

I pulled the wheel off last night and tried re-balancing it, and it's just more of the same. I'm no professional, but I've been mounting all of the tires on the last 4 bikes I've had over the last 7 years. I've never had this kind of trouble with a tire! This bike was very solid and stable with the Dunlop that came with the bike, the Dunlop I replaced that one with, and the Bridgestone that went on after the second Dunlop. It's only this last tire that has mucked things up!

I guess that's been a bit of rant, but I am pretty frustrated. I'm writing this more to warn others of what these Avon's are like than anything. I did email Southwest Moto tires telling about my troubles. I didn't ask for any particular remedy, so I'm not expecting much. I don't know that it's really any fault of theirs, but I do think it's my responsibility to inform them when a product they're selling isn't meeting expectations. . . .

thanks for your indulgence,

Jim

Mellow

Joe
Admin
Bike
'21 BMW R1250RT
2024 Miles
It could just be a bad tire... it does happen, I had a Dunlop Roadsmart that I would balance but it would have similar issues and when I too it off, it was out of balance.. maybe something shifting, who knows..

I can't say I've seen much bad report on the Storms.. in fact I was going to try them after I ran through a couple sets of Mich PR2s.

Hopefully SWMoto will just give you another same or different tire in exchange.